Daily Archives: September 8, 2015

From Jam To Jar

Standard

image

Ive been making Gooseberry jam this week. I must admit it is REALLY simple. Just boil equal measures of fruit to sugar and hey presto! Jam! A great gift and scrummy on scones. It’s confession time again. I have had these gooseberries in the freezer since last year, and they were perfectly fine.

image

The gooseberry jam is destined to go into these vintage jam pots! Or vintage preserve dishes. (Sounds much posher doesn’t it?)

I am looking for more glass pots similar to the above for “Nanna Amy’s Vintage Tea Party” so if you know where there are any please let me know.

If I can find time this week I hope to pick some Blackberries from the hedgerows to make more jam.Yummy! The big plus is that they are free. I love FREE.

By the way, why does green Gooseberry jam turn to such a lovely shade of red?