Competions part 2

Standard

Yesterday I told you about one of the competitions that I won quite a few years ago. Well I have won quite a few more but as I said not recently. It is high time that a jumped onto another winning streak!

A prize that I once won included car hire for two weeks and the ferry crossing for a car and family to France. Whoo Hoo! We hired accommodation in Normandy and spent the two weeks exploring the Normandy Landings Beaches from World War Two. Not as grim as it sounds as the boys were very young. We all enjoyed the holiday beaches and exploring the multitude of mini war museums. Fascinating for 10 and 7 year old boys. We picnicked on Omaha and Gold Beaches and played cricket in the sun.

The car was a new Ford Sierra in bright red – very trendy in the 1980s and I remembered, most of the time, to drive on the right hand side of the road instead of the left.

I have also won multiple shop vouchers, Cookery books, a television and toasters. Oh the toasters! I won an electric toaster, very nice I might add. The next day another toaster arrived and the day after another! I rang the company as a fourth arrived and they said not to worry and don’t bother returning them!! I gave toasters as many  charity raffle prizes that year.

Competions have changed so much. I used to always post them, then the telephone became the main entry route. Now most are done via the Internet. Not quite as much fun as wishing a postcard good luck as you drop it into the postbox. But someone will win and it could be me!

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I will send out good vibes and hope to win something exciting soon!!

 

2 responses

  1. I’ve been a bit of a comper in my time too. Just rediscovering it! It is quite a commitment isn’t it! I remember I used to have to buy 100 Second Class stamps to get through the month. This month I sent one postcard! We still had our ceremonial luck wishing at the post box though!

    Like