Link

During. the last few days I have been sitting with my Mum.

image

Mum is 90 in a few days. Last night I looked after my Grandson. GRANDSON IS 9 years old.

image

Mum is dying Grandson has his life to come.
I have been overwhelmed with it all and life feels like a great big beautiful rainbow. Grandchildren at one end and Mum at the other end.
What a rainbow Mum has travelled over! Just a few achievemets in her rainbow:
She was the 7th child of the 7th child. The luckiest place to be.
She has had 3 children
She was married to a wonderful man.
She only had the one lover – my Dad.
She road a tandem bike.
She worked in a psychiatric hospital.
She sang a lot.
She was stubborn.
She got into trouble at school because she couldn’t spell Egypt.
She could sing the Welsh National anthem in Welsh (but hardly ever went to Wales)
She taught me to knit and stitch.
She looked after me even as an adult.
Mum road a bike to work for 20+ years.
She travelled extensively. Even asking yesterday could she go to Blackpool.
She wove willow baskets to protect glass carbouys as her part of the second World War effort.
Mum loved life.
Mums rainbow was her rainbow. The secret of life seems to be enjoy your rainbow.

image

3 responses