Sewing Lessons

Standard

A few weekends ago lovely Step Grandaughter came to stay. She brought with her a mini sewing machine so that I could show her how to sew! Never one to miss an opportunity I showed her how to sew along side me whilst I made her the dress in the previous blog. Get ’em young I say! I honestly think that if you show a child how to craft when they are young it will stay with them for ever. I am eternally grateful to my Mum and Grandmother for showing me how to sew. Those were the teenage days when I bought fabric on a Saturday morning, made a mini shift dress on a Saturday afternoon and wore it to the Co Op Hall on a Saturday night. Ah well I digress!

image

Despite a broken arm some weeks ago lovely Step Grandaughter was dashing away with her sewing machine. She designed and made a long length of bunting.

image.jpegShe struggled on valiantly making Benji dog a neckerchief. Benji was a willing model but thought it very odd to be taken for a walk wearing anything more than a lead.

imageShe also made an eye mask to help her sleep! There was an attempt at mittens for the ever patient Benji dog but he did draw the line at modelling them.

image

We both had a lovely time designing haute couture ( for the dog) and sewing for much of the weekend. I strongly suspect that she will be back! I must think of some good projects. Maybe she will have her own design ideas after all Quant and Kidston started somewhere.

image

 

One response