Blooming Marvelous!

Gallery

Blogged to my travel blog damnvan1.wordpress.com

Damnvan1

Good morning from Funchal, Madeira Portugal! The cruise has been in Funchal for two days to give us time to see the Spring Flower Festival. It is amazing! Yesterday there was a parade of decorated floats, dancers and music. The parade took over an hour to pass through but the decorating with fresh flowers must have taken days. They were all lovely, colourful and happy. I don’t think that I’ve ever seen so many smiley faces in one place.

imageimageimageThe crowds were three and four deep for the whole length of the parade. Please excuse my photographs but I couldn’t get an up close space! Many people waited HOURS to secure a spot but I preferred to sit on a wall eating ice cream in the sunshine. There were people climbing up cliff sides, holding onto fences and sat on Dad’s shoulders to get a good view.

The little children…

View original post 71 more words

One response

  1. Sounds great and looks so colourful, I have been to Madiera many times but not at this time of year. We are in Ireland at the moment beautiful ,interesting but cool and wet. Hoping for better things tomorrow as we are going to Giants Causeway.

    Like