Antiquarian

Standard

  • This is a poem that I wrote some time ago after I’d been to ( yet another) Vintage Fair.

    Antiquarian
    Oh no! I’ve spotted a bygone!
    It came from a life long gone.
    How did it happen? Time goes so fast.
    All those antiques that were made to last.
    My toys long forgotten, up in the loft.
    My Teddy, my dolly all cuddly and soft.
    The boxes of toys for sale at the fair,
    I played with those and Truth and Dare.
    Kick can Lurky was a cheeky game,
    Jacks and Hop Scotch just the same.
    Skipping and tossing against a wall
    Required no effort – not at all.
    Two Balls I played and a hoola hoop.
    Is this why my back has such a stoop?
    Blind Man’s Bluff and Post Man’s Knock
    And I learn the time on a new Tick Tock.
    A monkey money box ate my pennies,
    Golly Wogs and a boy called Dennis.
    Annuals, cigarette cards and penny sweets.
    My life has been full of many treats.
    Oh No! I’ve seen another Antique.
    It was in a mirror! I had only a peek!

    Barbara Taylor (A Vintage Girl from a Vintage World)

One response

  1. I’ll bet a lot of folks will rue the internet when their “stupid stuff” days are over! I’m also glad to have dodged that one. But there’s no dodging the mirror. Nice little poem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person