Wordsmith Wednesday – Notions

Standard

This is just one definition of the word “notions” as described by Wikipedia. Don’t you just love this word? I think that the joy of certain words comes from a personal association with the meaning. When I hear Notions in this context I imagine all those cotton reels, scissors, quick unpicks, tape measures and so (sew?!) on.

Notions (sewing)
In sewing and haberdashery, notions is an umbrella term for a variety of small objects or accessories. Notions can include items that are sewn or otherwise attached to a finished article, such as buttons, snaps, and collar stays, but the term also includes small tools used in sewing, such as thread, pins, marking pens, and seam rippers. The noun is almost always used in the plural. The term is chiefly found in the United States, and was formerly used in the construction Yankee notions.

image image

About Noddfacrafts

I live in a small cottage in the Clwydian hills of North Wales. I left a career in Radiology management to pursue a country life of crafts, vintiquing, and wine tasting. I adore to travel but love to come home. I have a great husband and three fantastic children with three gorgeous grand children. Life is good but I believe it is also what you make it. My current mantra is "adventure before dementia"

Comments are closed.