Posting to Nepal

Standard

Back in June and July I blogged about our village craft group knitting for Nepal. How could anyone not be touched at the plight of the Nepal people following the devastating earthquake? Hubs and I trekked to the village of Ghandruk, in the Annapurna region, a few years ago so I decided to send the donated items to their clinic for distribution.

imageI remember walking UP this path for a long way. The people were so nice, kind and generous. We saw children walking for at least an hour along this path to school every day!

imageThe pile of knitted items included children’s sweaters, hats, scarves, shawl and baby blankets. I wrestled them all into two parcels and struggled to the village post office with them. I had to send them surface mail as the cost for air mail was phenomenal. The Post Master said that they would go by sea which is a puzzle as Nepal is land locked!!

They should arrive by Christmas before their cold weather really sets in. If I ever hear when they will arrive I will let you know.

Comments are closed.