Wordsmith Wednesday-Dulcinea

Standard

Dulcinea
noun:
A man’s sweetheart
Word Origin:
C18: from the name of Don Quixote’s mistress Dulcinea del Toboso in Cervantes’ novel; from Spanish dulce sweet

I saw this word today for the first time on Wordsmith.org.( A great source of unusual words and their meanings)

Some words are really attractive and I think that this is one of them. I’m not sure if it’s the sound, meaning or association that makes any particular word appealing.

Have you ever been a Dulcinea?

image
Dulcinea del Toboso
Art: Charles Robert Leslie, 1839

About Noddfacrafts

I live in a small cottage in the Clwydian hills of North Wales. I left a career in Radiology management to pursue a country life of crafts, vintiquing, and wine tasting. I adore to travel but love to come home. I have a great husband and three fantastic children with three gorgeous grand children. Life is good but I believe it is also what you make it. My current mantra is "adventure before dementia"

Comments are closed.