Awesome Austria Day Four

Standard

Today was the day that I wrecked my feet! It was downhill all the way, but first we had to go up hill!

image

We decided to go up on the Ahorn gondola from Mayrhofen to the top of the Ahorn Mountain. The Ahorn Gondola is the largest in Austria and travels up the side of the mountain at approximately 36 kilometres per hour. The whole of the area is geared up for skiing but during the summer it is a walkers wonderland.

image

The next problem was which way to walk? Well I do confess it was my suggestion to walk back down. Who in their right mind would walk down a mountain when you can get a lift? Not only that but we walked 4265 feet DOWN HILL!!

image

The weather was a relentless 33 degrees. The Hubs was very patient. The feet were a nightmare. The scenery was stupendous. The packed lunch welcome. The water essential.

I did survive and complete the walk/hike/marathon. My poor toes were a different story. I did wear hiking boots but canvas ones. Big mistake. It’s never the wrong walk only the wrong footwear!

image

Give feet freedom I say!

2 responses

  1. Oh my–I thought you were going to say you walked down in those sandals! But it sounds like a tough walk even in boots–I always think going down is harder than going up! But you’ll never forget the experience!

    Like