Victorian Nursing Chair

Standard

imageHi there! Here is the nursing chair that lives in my bedroom. It is a typical Victorian nursing chair with no arms and sat quite low. They were designed for nursing mothers ( or Nannys ) when holding an infant. This particular one is still in its original fabric as it has been protected with a loose cover for many years. Nursing chairs were usually found in more wealthy homes and have traditional cabriole legs with brass castors. This chair  is padded with horse hair and quite comfortable especially if you were feeding a baby.

imageHere is the same chair complete with its loose covers. My Mum made these particular covers in the 1970s complete with piping and pleating. The cover fits perfectly and is fastened on with hidden Velcro. I removed the cover today as I am Spring cleaning! Yes REALLY! One day I will make a new cover for this much loved chair. I’m not sure if I could do as good a job as my Mum did. All that piping and fitting. Anyway maybe one day! For now I will just wash and refit.

Comments are closed.