Wordsmith Wednesday-Vintage vs Retro

Standard

Vintage vs Retro

There are many definitions of vintage and retro but I think that the following is the simplest.

1) Too old to be considered modern, but not old enough to be considered antique. Often used to describe items for sale online such as ebay auctions or craigslist posts though may also be found in printed listings such as classified ads. Can also be a euphemism for “heavily used” items.

2) Retro, recently out of style with potential to make a comeback

I describe myself as vintage but was thinking of myself has maturing like a fine wine!  Vintage was originally a word prefixing the year of a bottle of fine wine but has become a word used to describe older items frequently offered for sale. I’m not so sure of applying the euphemism suggested above! But it’s all good fun! Perhaps I’m more retro than vintage?

image

About Noddfacrafts

I live in a small cottage in the Clwydian hills of North Wales. I left a career in Radiology management to pursue a country life of crafts, vintiquing, and wine tasting. I adore to travel but love to come home. I have a great husband and three fantastic children with three gorgeous grand children. Life is good but I believe it is also what you make it. My current mantra is "adventure before dementia"

3 responses