Daily Archives: March 27, 2015

Italian Lakes

Standard

Hi nice people! I’m still having a hard time at the Italian Lakes! Weather is mixed but not bad at all. I am staying on the shores of Lake Como opposite ¬†beautiful Bellagio actually that’s not fair as its ALL beautiful! We took a ferry across the lake to visit Bellagio, a village clinging to the mountainside. There was an abundance of steep “alleyways” lined with shops and paved in cobbles. Sadly we arrived during the extended lunch ” hour” that appears to last up to three hours, and many of the shops were closed. I suppose that this saved me from myself and helped me to save money!

image image imageI adore the local architecture which can only be described as shabby chic, probably the original. Locals don’t seem heavily into home maintenance as all the houses are flaking ombr√© shades of yellow and terracotta-beautiful. There are many stunning villas along the lakeside. Many have not been opened up yet and remain shuttered. Apparently these huge villas are owned by uber rich Italians and even Russians. They are opened for the families for about two weeks a year if that. What a shame! The villas are left to be run by housekeepers and caretakers. I must see if George Clooney needs a housekeeper!

