Wordsmith Wednesday/Abstentious

Standard

Abstentious

PRONUNCIATION:
(abs-TEN-shus)

MEANING:
adjective: Self-restraining, especially in eating or drinking.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin abstinere (to hold back), from ab- (away) + tenere (to hold). Ultimately from the Indo-European root ten- (to stretch), which also gave us tense, tenet, tendon, tent, tenor, tender, pretend, extend, tenure, tetanus, hypotenuse, pertinacious, detente, countenance, distend, extenuate, and tenable. Earliest documented use: 1839.

USAGE:
“Ballplayers … have popped up at water polo, diving, and softball, cheering for Canadian teammates and downing a beer or two, unlike most of their abstentious fellow athletes.”
Ken MacQueen; Now or Never; Maclean’s (Toronto, Canada); Aug 30, 2004.

Interestingly this word contains all the vowels in the correct order!

I think that I might put this word on my fridge door and it might help me to be more abstentious!

About Noddfacrafts

I live in a small cottage in the Clwydian hills of North Wales. I left a career in Radiology management to pursue a country life of crafts, vintiquing, and wine tasting. I adore to travel but love to come home. I have a great husband and three fantastic children with three gorgeous grand children. Life is good but I believe it is also what you make it. My current mantra is "adventure before dementia"

Comments are closed.