Daily Archives: March 8, 2015

York and The Quilt Museum

Standard

This week a friend and I took ourselves off to York to treasure hunt in the charity shops, search the craft shops, visit York Minster and the Quilt Museum. The highlight for myself was the Quilt Museum. I am so glad that I made the effort as it has long been on my “must do” list and I discovered that it is closing in October. A good job that I didn’t put it off much longer!

Friend had free tickets to the Minster and as I’d been before I took myself off to the Quilt Museum. There were three exhibitions in a gloriously Medieval hall. A real WOW setting.

1) All Shapes and Sizes

A stunning collection of quilts pieced to perfection.

2) Chinese Whispers Challengeimage

A quilting challenge whereby the first entrant creates a quilt from a photograph, takes a picture of it and passes that onto the next entrant who repeats the process.  Interesting take on the parlour game “Chinese Whispers”

3) Voices from The Inside ( my favourite)

An exhibition of creative quilts hand-stitched by prisoners trained by Fine Cell Work.

A great day out but sad the museum is closing. I will tell you more about crafts in York next time!

