Cross Stitch Sampler

Standard

image image

Hello Dear Friends! Having blogged about counted cross stitch last week I remembered my first ever cross stitch attempt. This sampler was purchased as a kit, where the pattern was printed onto the fabric. Actually aod way to learn cross stitch.

The sampler was worked in 1985 as you can see. In those days I worked as a Radiographer in a busy A and E department. ( Accident and Emergency, ER -but no George Clooney). Now when I say busy we had quite a lot of down time as I worked mainly evenings. During these quiet moments I used to stitch away. Cross stitch was perfect as I could drop it at anytime. I am certain that in more recent times crafting at work would not be possible! But this was in another era. Can anyone else work at crafts at work these days?

This particular sampler has a very worthy saying which, incidentally I didn’t choose!

“Virtue is the Chiefest Beauty of the  mind

The Noblest Ornament of Humankind

Happy days and Happy Ways! (Perhaps I could embroider that onto a sampler)

2 responses

  1. I learned to stitch on a printed cross stitch sampler, too! The date I stitched on was 1979 but I know it was started much earlier. I’m glad you still have yours–I do, too!

    Like