Cross Stitch Craft and Camping

Standard

image image image image

Quite a few a few years ago I went through my “Cross Stitch Era”. I find that all craft work ( for myself at least) comes and goes in phases of learning, enthusiasm and creativity. Cross stitch passion lasted quite some time and is one of the most artistic of crafts. This cross stitch bell pull was made for my parents and hung alongside their fireplace until we cleared the house. I stitched the bell pull onto Aida fabric and used a cream linen backing- which covered up many errors! I purchased a manufactured bell pull metal hanger.

I made this cross stitch sampler in 1993 not using any particular pattern. I chose separate nature patterns, from various magazines and books, and interspersed them throughout with little random thought. I sewed three larger butterflies which divided the other pictures. None of the patterns are to size individually but work as a whole. I remember adding the images as I went along but was very pleased with the end result.

In 1993 I spent much of a summer holiday sat outside our tent in Guernsey Channel Islands, cross stitching this sampler. When I look at this craft item I can almost feel the sun on my back as I stitched away, listening to my three children laughing and playing on the camp site. Evocative, happy memories.

Maybe I’ll give cross stitching another go and start another era!

5 responses

  1. I never really heard of anyone doing improv cross stitch but your totally works! And it’s so neat that the bell pull brings back such strong, fond memories.

    Like

  2. Q – Beautiful! I know how much work goes into cross-stitching. Mom and Curls (sister Barbara) are fabulous cross-stitchers and I’m lucky enough to have work from both of them. I do not have the patience and admire anyone who does. Love how they invoke your memories.

    Like

  3. Very pretty samplers, and it is lovely to design and work a piece of your own. I love Cross Stitch and have done a lot of it myself, in fact I was looking through it the other day and thinking about starting a piece x.

    Like