Sew and sew!

Standard

In my wisdom I decided to “return to sewing”. Yes I have always sewn but in the recent past I’ve sewed stuff such as cushions, soft furnishings, rag dolls, quilts etc. it’s many years since I’ve sewn garments. Not exactly Haute Couture but basic dress making such as dresses,skirts, tops etc. For my first (in modern times) foray into dressmaking I chose a skirt pattern. I tried to keep it simple whilst being reasonably on trend. How wrong can you be!

In the past I have made wedding dresses, many evening dresses, children’s clothes etc but this must be about thirty years ago. My how the memory dulls! I chose a Burda pattern to start with (Burda style 6835).

image

FIRST PROBLEM

Fabric! I chose a lovely woollen plaid cloth. Not too expensive, but I purchased twice as much as required. Lesson learned = buy the pattern before the fabric, for reasons of economy.

SECOND PROBLEM

Check the size. This pattern is in American sizing so I had a problem converting my generous size 16 into the American equivalent! Because I am lining the skirt I cut out and pinned the back of the skirt and measured it against another skirt that fits nicely. Not exactly scientific but hopefully it will work.

Lesson learned = either lose weight or check the pattern sizing!

THIRD PROBLEM

Terminology! What on earth is the Godet piece? Still not sure but maybe time will tell!

Do dressmakers still use Tailors tacks? Is basting the same as tacking? How do you insert a full length zip that is for show only?

Lesson learned = Read the Instructions- simple when you know how!

I will let you know how I muddle through! Pictures included, promise.

3 responses