Gifts Galore

Standard

The shawl mentioned in the previous post was a great sucess on Christmas Day. My Mum was very pleased, even if I’m not sure that she will remember to wear it! Christmas was good in my part of the World and I hope that it was in yours also.

I can now show you the cushion that I made for my little Sis. The fabric was purchased from a craft show and I was advised to wash it before sewing because of potential shrinkage. I was amazed at the amount of dressing or starch that did come out of it when washed. It was purchased as “shabby chic” fabric and indeed ended up as very “shabby chic” if not just “shabby rag”! Because of this I chose to quilt the cushion using a backing of quality batting. This worked and I am pleased with the end result.

I made two nine patch quilts to which I appliqued hearts and flowers. I used contrast threads to give the cushion a country, simple look. I machine quilted in the ditch and a little around each patch to give it some body.I also attatched a border of a contrasting lace frill using a tiny red Cross stitch which is very effective. I also added pretty buttons to the flower centres. Over all, after a disappointing start, I  am very pleased with the outcome, and more importantly so is Sis

imageimage

imageimage

One response