Cafe, Cake and Coffee

Standard

imageCakes are cooked ( well almost!) and all is ready for the Cilcain Community Coffee morning this coming Saturday. I’ve just got to make a batch of cup cakes and we are ready. The charity is ” Breakthrough For Breast Cancer” This is the research arm in the battle to find more out about this disease.

I have raised money for this and other Breast Cancer charities during much of my career as a Radiographer and Mammographer. When I worked full time I used to arrange for all the staff in our small XRay department to ditch their uniform tops and wear pink, breast cancer support Tee Shirts with black trousers. We ditched the uniform every October for many years. This served two objectives

1) patients sponsored us and

2) The staff enjoyed a change from formal white uniforms and raised the cheerfulness level in the department!

We all enjoyed tracking down new sponsored tee shirts and wearing pink to support the charity. I do have a fine collection of Breast Cancer Tee shirts!

One year a friend and I walked “The Moon Walk” marathon through London wearing bras decorated with tassels, fringing, bobbles and anything we could sew on. 26 miles is one heck of a walk! This was in aid of Breast Cancer research. The very best part was walking past a London Fire Station whilst being cheered on by the Firemen. Don’t you just love a man in uniform?

I will post about the cafe next week.

Comments are closed.