Daily Archives: October 28, 2014

Cheese scones and Gooseberry Jam

Standard

Goose Gog JamimageToday I have been so busy playing at being a “good housewife”! I have made Gooseberry jam I’m really getting into jam making. It is so easy. I used gooseberries that were in my freezer which my neighbours girls were selling at their gate this summer. I looked online for the recipe and was amazed when the jam turned a yummy pink colour. The recipe did say that it would but I didn’t believe it! We used to call gooseberries “goose gogs” when I was a child. I think that one of the jars will go back to my neighbour who supplied the berries. I do love giving home made food as gifts.

Whilst the jam was cooking I made a cheese scone ring. How about that for multi tasking? This was a Mary Berry recipe, again found on line ( she’s my current heroine). This scone is destined to be given away as well. This makes it all low calorie I suppose. I’m off to daughters tomorrow, who has guests staying. I am joining them for afternoon tea and thought this scone ring would make a good contribution with some lovely butter. I’ve not tasted it yet so I hope it’s OK.

This is a real baking week as I am organising a Community Cafe in my village on Saturday in aid off Breakthrough For Breast Cancer. This cafe will be from 2pm till 5 pm and we hope to sell lots of cake/tea/coffee for this good cause. Various friends have offered to come to help and most importantly, contribute cake. I currently have Chocolate cake,Victoria sandwich, a variety of sponge buns, and Bara Brith in my freezer. I just need to bake a little more. Maybe another cheese scone ring would be good mmmmm.

I will report back next week after the cafe and let you know how much we make.

