Birth Place of Robbie Burns

Standard

image image imageOn our recent trip to Scotland we visited the house where Robbie Burns was born. This beautiful, low cottage has been restored to demonstrate life in the1760s. There was a lovely rag rug in front of the fire which I suspect wasn’t the rug that Robbie learned to crawl on!

I saw the box bed where Robbie was born, the first of seven children. Interestingly they have hung old linen babies night gowns, each had the name of a child embroidered on them, born in the box bed. Strangely there was a light inside each gown which appeared rather spooky. In fact I couldn’t get out of the room fast enough.

I am fairly certain that the phrases and slogans were not painted on the walls in Robbie’s day. This is a rather odd, modern idea designed to illustrate the times I suppose.

Robbie Burns lived in this cottage until he was seven years old in1766. He went on to become the best known Scottish poet and lyricist that Scotland has ever produced. He was also known as “Rabbie Burns” and was born in Alloway, Ayrshire, Scotland.image

Tomorrow I am off to The Black Sheep Wools which is very exciting. I can browse, plan and choose another project to start. I will report back and let you know what comes next! Watch this space.

About Noddfacrafts

I live in a small cottage in the Clwydian hills of North Wales. I left a career in Radiology management to pursue a country life of crafts, vintiquing, and wine tasting. I adore to travel but love to come home. I have a great husband and three fantastic children with three gorgeous grand children. Life is good but I believe it is also what you make it. My current mantra is "adventure before dementia"

Comments are closed.