Scotland a Land of Mist and Castles

Standard

I’m sorry not to have blogged for some time but I have just returned from a trip to Scotland.  A land full of castles frequently shrouded in mist. We had a great time and hope that my internal batteries have re charged!

There was an absence of shopping opportunities but I managed to track down a few charity shops! imageWhen my first Grandchild was born nine years ago I realised that she would be a child of the internet. I decide that everywhere I went I would send her a postcard. I love the written word and worry that modern children will use it less and less. Indeed postcards are getting less and less available as I suppose their days are numbered!

I now have three grandchildren so that means three postcards. I send them even when I go on a day out somewhere. I always date them and say something about who I am with or the place that I am staying. I purchased special boxes for each child to store their cards in. I hope that some time in the distant future these cards will provide a social history of myself and I will be remembered through my travels.

4 responses

  1. That’s a really nice tradition, with the postcards! It may take your grandchildren awhile to truly appreciate it but I know they will! I hope you’ll blog more about Scotland–I loved my trip there.

    Like