Victorian Pier

Standard

imageimageimageWe spent today walking along the promenade at Colwyn Bay. Benji the dog enjoyed a run along the beach with sand between his paws. We passed the soon to be demolished Victorian Pier. In it’s hey day a tribute to Victorian engineering and a veritable pleasure palace. It was opened in 1900. The pier has been embroiled in a political and legal arguement for the last decade or so. This has resulted in an order to demolish the pier before nature demolishes it for us. It is a great pity that this pier could not be saved but costs seem to far out weigh the benefit. It is goodbye to this once fine example of Victoriana. OK so that’s my “vintage” rant over.

Not much crafting but I will get out my knitting later. As usual I spend much more time thinking what to craft than actually creating.

Today was certainly a walk along the beach sort of a day, sunny, warm, happy.

About Noddfacrafts

I live in a small cottage in the Clwydian hills of North Wales. I left a career in Radiology management to pursue a country life of crafts, vintiquing, and wine tasting. I adore to travel but love to come home. I have a great husband and three fantastic children with three gorgeous grand children. Life is good but I believe it is also what you make it. My current mantra is "adventure before dementia"

Comments are closed.