Apple Cake

Standard

Here in the UK it has been a good year for apples. The very good news is that at this time of the year I get them for free! I LOVE free๐Ÿ˜ƒ my friends have apple trees and can only cope with so many so I get the remains. I have baked, stewed,chopped and munched through the last couple of weeks.

Today I have made Apple Cakes. I used a recipe from The Dairy Book of Family Cookery which I purchased from my milkman back in 1983. In those days I had a young family and not much money. Now I have an old family and not much money……..! OK so I’m rich in other ways.

I have altered the recipe a little but here it is.๐ŸŒž

Apple Cake

225g cooking apples, peeled and chopped.

225g sultanas

150ml milk

175 brown sugar

350 self raising flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 generous tea spoons mixed spice

175g butter, melted

1 egg beaten

Mix apples, sultanas, milk, and sugar

Sieve together flour and spice

Divide between 2 One pound loaf tins which have been lined and greased.

Sprinkle with Demerara sugar

Bake at 160 degrees C in a fan oven for 1 hour or until risen and golden brown.

Serve sliced with afternoon tea.

3 responses