Grandad Ted

Standard

image image imageIn the 1980’s and 90’s it was still possible to buy fur coats from charity shops. It was acceptable to wear these fur coats but many were donated to charity. My Mum bought a few of these coats and jackets and made “Teddy Bears” from them. I think that she made three or four over time. They were stuffed very firm, had jointed limbs and were much loved by my children.

The Teddy in the picture belongs to my daughter and is named “Grandad Ted”. He is named after my father who was called Edmund, known as Ted. My Mum added a tag saying ” born 1990″ – the Teddy not my Dad!

Sadly my Dad died over six years ago and didn’t meet my youngest Grandson. This child now counts “grandad Ted” amongst his favourite toys. The really funny thing is that my Grandson is confused about death, heaven and relationships (aren’t we all?). He seems to think that Grandad Ted the Teddy and Grandad Ted my father are the same person(?). He understands that Grandad Ted the person is in Heaven but not sure about Grandad Ted the Teddy! Now I’m confused!

Well my wonderful Mother will be 88 on Sunday, she misses my Dad enormously but keeps smiling and is still telling me how to sew, knit etc. So this blog is dedicated to her for showing me how to sew, knit and love Grandad Ted!

 

 

5 responses