Ladies Who Lunch?

Image

Ladies Who Lunch?

Today as it was pouring with rain, I travelled from our campsite on the bus to Ilkley. Ilkley is a very nice town and I enjoyed a shopping spree as planned. Not as planned, I noticed Betty’s cake and tea shop. Now Betty’s was established in 1919 in Yorkshire and is very well renowned for its service and quality food. You usually queue to get in, which I did but not for too long. The Betty’s in Ilkley is typical of their style, stained glass windows, etched mirrors and waitresses dressed in black and impeccable white uniforms. This is English afternoon tea personified!
I did feel rather out of place as I was wearing worn out trainers, hiking trousers, back pack and wet hair. Well what do you expect when your camping? I sat amongst the twin set and pearls brigade, yummy mummies and wealthy young ladies and had a great afternoon tea!
I can really recommend Betty’s tearoom http://www.bettys.co.uk

6 responses

  1. Ilkley recently got a branch of boyes, upstairs in boyes is one of the hidden treasures of northern england – the haberdashey department. I rarely manage to go a week without ending up in boyes – the ilkley one isnt as good as my local, but tis still boyes, bugger betty’s (I’m reliably informed I make better macaron than them anyways).

    ilkley also has a duttons, you did find duttons?

    Like

    • I’m gutted! I actually saw Boyes but didn’t go in! I would have much rather spent my money there than in Betty’s. I’ll just have to come back!
      Barbara

      Like

      • boyes varies, but they have a lot of good basics really cheap, and are often full of surprises, I couldn’t live without them. Many years ago a friend moved to london and told me the thing she missed the most was boyes becuase haberdashery is so difficult in london. THey have brnaches al over the north east. Bonds in farsley is also worth a look if you’re ever in north leeds.

        Like

      • Thanks. I’ve never heard of it but will certainly keep the tip. I think it’s getting harder and harder to find decent suppliers. I suppose it’s the internet effect. Barbara

        Like

  2. Pleased you enjoyed Betty’s and all it had to offer, I am to mean to pay her prices Ha cheap and cheerful that’s me. Pete’s sister’s Daughter lives in Ilkley it is lovely and where they live is gorgeous you just need to be in the money to live there, have fun. x

    Like