Dyeing and Vintage Thrift

Image

imageDyeing and Vintage Thrift

I took a huge step of faith and decided to dye a white towel that was neither white nor beige,a white sheet that was off white and another towel that had seen better days. I had purchased a machine dye that was supposed to be a one step process some time ago. To be truthful, I was scared of dyeing chaos. You know the sort of thing, permanently blue hands or ruined washing machine or blue skin after bathing! Anyhow I went for it and spent an hour watching the interesting DARK blue water spinning around the machine and the items seeming nearly black. I had bought a denim blue dye. Hooray I was delighted with the results. The towels are a lovely shade of navy and the sheet a light denim. Everything looks fantastic and certainly has an extended life expectancy. Also the upholstery in Damnvan1 is blue so everything will co ordinate wonderfully.

šŸ’ƒVINTAGE THRIFT

When I was young long,long ago I had little money! Surprise! Surprise! It was in the sixties and along with the mini skirt came tights. These were a marvellous fashion statement as it meant you could wear mini skirts as short as you dared. Prior to this time there were only stockings and suspenders. I’ll say no more! Anyway, when I got a hole or a ladder in my tights the first emergency was to use clear nail varnish to stop the hole spreading. It was advisable to hold the tight off the leg whilst the varnish dried. If you didn’t it stuck to the leg!
When this emergency treatment failed or the hole got too big I would cut off the offending leg.( in the tights that is!) at the point where the panty starts. I always tried to buy the same shade of tights and saved the remaining leg,attached to the panty part until I had a matching pair. Now at this point I would wear a tight on each leg and two pairs of panties creating a “new” pair of tights. Job done!
In the event of different shades of tight legs I would boil the tights in a pan with soapy water and the colours would blend until they all became the same shade. Fantastic! Hole and ladder free tights and a warm waist down with two tight tops!

5 responses

  1. My goodness you have taken me back especially the tights and nail varnish, the times I have been in a hurry and stupidly done the nail varnish trick, with tights on and nearly taken the skin off my leg. Happy Days ha ha x

    Like