Jugs and Grannies!

Image

imageMincemeat SlicesJugs and Grannies!

I was cleaning (I was, honest!) today when I fell into a nostalgia trip with the vase of daffodils illustrated. The jug was inherited from my maternal Grandmother, a lady that I never met. Her name was Susannah and the mother to seven children. She bought the jug in 1932 and it was her pride and joy. These were hard times and there was no cash for luxuries so the jug must have been a joy.
My Mum was very good at labelling things and thanks to her I now know when the jug was purchased. The label is getting a bit washed up now, but I haven’t got the heart to replace it until it is totally unreadable. It takes pride of place in my home and whilst it’s of little cash value it is irreplaceable to me. I find it wonderful that I still use with pleasure,Susannah’s lovely jug more that 80 years after she bought it.
I am currently suffering an invasion of step grandchildren (You’ve just gotta love them) so have had little time to craft other than knit a couple of hexipuffs! I am home alone today to have a bakeathon in preparation for tomorrow’s Colossal Cake sale in aid of Help for Heroes. More about that tomorrow. Today I have baked mincemeat slices, Fairy cakes and a Victoria sponge. Hopefully friends will turn up with more cake and dish wash hands.

One response

  1. My grandmother labelled everything, too, so I have all kinds of info about some of the precious old things she left–glad she did it! You’re so lucky to have this pretty jug!

    Like