Vintage box

Image

imageVintage box

Following my recent blog on the lovely pine chest that my Son and Daughter in law gave me for Christmas I decided to investigate another vintage box that I have. What a delight this box is known as the Ditty Box. I always “Knew” this box as the Ditty Box and used to sit on it as a stool when I was a child. It’s not very big and I currently store notions in it! (Great word notions).
Today I googled the words Ditty Box and was delighted to learn that a Ditty Box was supplied to seamen during the First World War to store their personal items, especially letters. They were also issued with a kit bag to store their bedding etc.
My box has a label inside the lid which says”Naval Ditty Box Property of Peter S.Kennedy H.M.S. Malaya 1918″ This Seaman was my GrandFather and would have been seventeen at the time. My father (perhaps unfortunately ) restored this box some years ago. My Dad used to varnish anything that stood still! On reflection I think I love this box even more because my Dad bothered to varnished it,

2 responses