Vintage stilts?

Image

Vintage stilts?

When I was making the Ginger Cake mentioned in an earlier posting, I was whisked back in time to my childhood. OK it is quite a while ago-I told you that I am vintage!!
The object that transported me back in time was a tin of “Lyles Golden Syrup” Strange as it might seem my Mum used to save theses tins which are stronger than the usual can. She would wash them out and when she had two make me a pair of stilts. My Dad would use a hammer and awl to make two holes -one on each side at the top,below the lid rim. String was then threaded through one hole,across the tin top and through the other hole. The string was then knotted leaving the string a good length. The lid was firmly put on and voila a stilt. Two tins and away I would totter!
My foot would be on the tin lids with the string forming a handle. Holding a string in each hand I could now walk on the tins keeping them tight under each shoe! I wouldn’t dare to try it now as I’d probably break an ankle! Happy days!

Comments are closed.