Link

imageimageimageI have been sorting through my stash of vintage textiles (again) and I REALLY need to sort out and move some on. Space in our tiny cottage is at a premium and the situation is getting serious! With this in mind I have been sorting out vintage tray cloths and re-modeling as cushions. I chose two cloths of similar size,stitched them together and stuffed with filling and hey presto a cushion! I used white blanket stitch along the right side to join the cloths.

During my sorting I came across a pair of chair backs which my Grandmother embroidered over sixty years ago. These chair backs were made to protect the back of chairs from a gentlemans hair oil! This hair dressing was Macassar oil and the chair backs were known as Anti macassars. Here endeth the history lesson💚 These Antimassars now adorn chairs in my home -so I do use my vintage collection as it was intended.

All this sorting out has resulted in two tray cloths less and one cushion which I hope to sell at a village craft fair in a few weeks. More about that later.

Comments are closed.